

District 2-X1: Mid-Winter and Third Cabinet Meeting DG Radha Kaphle, 2024—2025 Saturday, January 18, 2025



Call to Order – DG Radha Kaphle called the meeting to order at 9:04AM

Present at meeting — DG Radha Kaphle, 1VDG Kedar Timalsina, 2VDG Gary Vineyard, PCC John Eads, PCC John Landrum, CT Danny Fletcher, CS Tami Kraus, IPDG Prakash Gautam, PDG Fred Conger, PDG Don Johnson, PDG Keith Murray, PDG Vinod Mathur, PDG Wayne Meachum, PDG Mark Dean, PDG Billy Ketner, PDG Bill Smothermon, PDG Frank Pickens, PDG Alice Conway, PDG Darla Wisdom, Region Chairs, Zone Chairs and Lion Members

Prayer – PDG Mark Dean

Pledges – IPDG Prakash Gautam

Lion Songs – Lion Woody Schober

Introductions & Housekeeping – 1VDG Kedar Timalsina

Special Guest Introduction MD-2 Council Chair Terrell Thompson

Awards

2023-2024 LCI Extension Awards
Lion Sunita Gautam
Lion Meena Chhetry
LCIF Award for exceeding goal
IPDG Prakash Gautam

Zone Chair Pins Lion Cornell Horn Lion Narayan Tripathi

LCI Leadership Medal Lion Rajenda Kuwar

2023-2024 District Excellence Award PDG Bill Smothermon GST Virginia Lamb

Various Awards for clubs/members

District Goals - Revisions and Achievements - DG Radha Kaphle

LCIF Area-F Vice Leader – PDG Bill Smothermon

1 VDG Kedar Timilsina received his first progressive Melvin Jones

Dallas Trinity Industrial Lions Club received recognition for every member being a Melvin Jones Fellow

Texas Lions Foundation Award presented by PDG Mark Dean to Lion Faye King

Diabetic Dog Alert donation thank you from Tori

First Breakout Session

New Lion Orientation

Region Chairs/Zone Chairs

Young Lions and Leos Interactions

Club Treasurers

Second Breakout Session

Club Presidents/Vice Presidents

Club Secretaries

Club Membership/Service Chairs

PDG Association

Mid-Winter Conference Luncheon (start time 12:12PM)

Guest Speaker Introduction – DG Radha Kaphle

Guest Speaker – MD-2 Council Chair Terrell Thompson

"Terrell's Philosophies of Life & Lionism"

Presentation of speaker thank you gifts

Induction of new club members – CC Terrell Thompson

Award of Membership Growth pin to Lion Dr. Om Thapa

Peace Poster Winners – Lion Karen Murray

3rd – Lancaster Lions Club

2nd – Midlothian Lions Club

1st – Maybank Cedar Creek – Tiffany Brown

Build-A-Bed update – PCC John Landrum

LCIF presentation - LCIF Area-F Vice Leader - PDG Bill Smothermon

Melvin Jones Fellow Winner – PDG Esmeralda Rodriguez

Dallas Trinity Industrial Lions Club presented check for \$6,000. as their clubs LCIF donation

Lions Quest – Lion Jim Woods

Tail Twisters

3rd Cabinet Meeting (start time 1:29PM)

Call to Order - DG Radha Kaphle

Minutes 2nd Cabinet Meeting held on October 19, 2024– CS Tami Kraus

Posted on District 2X-1 Website on October 29, 2024

PDG Darla Wisdom moved to accept the minutes; PDG Don Johnson seconded the motion; the motion passed.

Financial Report – CT Danny Fletcher

Lion Jim Woods moved to accept the financial reports as written; Lion Nia MacKay seconded the motion; the motion passed

Hall of Fame Presentation – CT Danny Fletcher

Nominee – PDG Ken Gleason. PDG Billy Ketner moved to accept the nomination of PDG Ken Gleason as the District 2-X1 nominee to Hall of Fame; 1VDG Kedar Timilsina seconded the motion; the motion passed.

District and Club Community Impact Grants

MMCU – Mobile Medical Care Unit – Lion Dr. Vishnu M. Upadhyay Lion Dr. Vishnu M. Upadhyay made motion for District 2-X1 to apply to LCIF for a DCG Grant in the amount of \$6,035.41 to support the Lions Health Foundation (Mobile Medical Care Unit); Lion Nia MacKay seconded the motion; motion passed.

Nominations Letters received

1 VDG nomination – Gary Vineyard 2-X1 Charities Board Director nomination – Kyle Borne District Governor – Kedar Timilsina

Lion Joe Kyle made motion to finalize the Hunger Pilot Grant HGR22 which was approved for \$75,000 in January, 2023 and completed December, 2024. PDG Keith Murray seconded the motion; the motion passed.

Service Chairs/Clubs

JC Hyer – Lion Karen Murray
Dallas Founders Fundraiser – Lion Nia MacKay
LOFY – Dr. Om Thapa
New Voices – Lion Maryann Hudgins
Environmental Chair – Lion Surya Bhandari
Richardson Host – John Wicker
TLC Grant/Sensory wall/\$250K – Lion Conrad Alagaban Jr.
PCC John Eads – check on Lions Family members

Meeting adjourned 2:24PM